Top 8 Boys

Last night was hands down the best overall in terms of performance this season. In fact, I think it’s the best top 24 performance, overall, that we’ve had in the history of AI. It was just simply that good. It was also really helpful that, for the most part, the songs performed last night were hot when I was in high school. They were songs I totally LOVED then and still do. So, who did I like? Well, the following three stood out and I tried to vote for each of them. I could NOT because the lines were busy for all three…for like the full two hours.

David Hernandez – And no, not just because he use to be a stripper for a “mostly male” audience. On the contrary, in my opinion that’s just damn helpful. He’s got a great voice, and the visuals of him singing, while performing a strip tease…well, just priceless. I didn’t think his performance last night was as strong as what he did last week, but it was still right up there. Of course, on the news last night was a segment about the developing “scandal”…big woo! So he use to strip. So he tended bar shirtless in a gay club. That’s news? I can think of at least one acquaintance who did pretty much the same, went on to be in the show Survivor and has parlayed that little bit of notoriety into a gig on another show (oh, and he’s just about one of the nicest guys you’ll ever, absolutely ever, meet). Just not a big deal! Of course, some people feel that anything gay should disqualify someone from having their moment in the spotlight. I don’t have words – coherent words – for those folks.

Jason Castro – Ummmm he laid down his guitar this week and damn…gave me goosebumps for miles. I absolutely love the fact that he’s a goof ball. That he couldn’t come up with a most embarrassing moment (I mean get real, a dreadlock broke off while you were on a first date…that’s funny stuff). I love the fact that interviews just throw him. I especially love the fact that all of that totally fades when he gets in front of the mic and opens his mouth. His haunting performance last night was perhaps his best of the season. It doesn’t hurt that he’s a white boy that can pull off dreads like those, and pull em off well. Or that he’s got the cutest, dorkiest smile.

David Cook – OK, seriously this one shocks the hell out of me. I have not been a fan of this guy. I’ve had issues with his hair, with his smile. With just about everything. But I’ve also been listening over the past couple of weeks. And I haven been impressed. And then last night he blew me away and then some. The arrangement of Lionel Richie’s song was first class and his performance was, in my humble opinion, the best of this season and ranked right up there with the top 5 performances from all previous seasons. That song was a big hit for Lionel Richie (who I saw not that long ago at Koi…see Simon, you aren’t the only one that randomly runs into him) and I believe will be a big hit for DC. HUGE!

My predictions for who will go home have been hit and miss this season. Which is typical for this point. I did better last week than the first. This week I truly believe that we will see Luke Menard go home. He just doesn’t have the chops most of the other guys have…plus, I still have visuals of that whole creepy “mac-down” he put on little elfin David A. last week. Just weird.

I am having a problem with who the other guy will be. I think it should be between Danny Noriega, who drives me a little bit bonkers with his “sassyness” – I mean, I get it – and Chickezie. I think this week, Danny needed something with a little more gravitas and well, he just didn’t stand out. Sorry. Even more than Danny is Chickezie…ugh. I just don’t like him. I agree with Simon 100% that he did himself no favors with his song selection this week.

So, if it were up to me, my top 6 guys would be…

David Archuleta
Jason Castro
David Cook
David Hernandez
Michael Johns
Danny Noriega*

By the way, they are listed in alpha order not in the particular order I think they should be ranked (except for Danny Noriega). Little elfin David Archuleta, I think, could quickly grow tiring. He’s almost robotic in his perfection. I’m not particularly sure he’ll be in the top 2 but he’ll certainly be in the top 4.

One Response to Top 8 Boys

  1. Jacob says:

    I think you are 1000% on the money, Jonathan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

